Whyalla is located on the South Australian Eyre Penisula. Our Population is around 22,000. The WBA's home is the Jubilee Park Stadium, a 3 court complex able to seat 500 people with full facilities.

The Whyalla Basketball Association has six affiliated clubs: Titans, Wildcats, Demons, Bevan, East Whyalla Sharks, Roopena.  Players compete in grades from U8's (starting at 5 years of age) thru to Senior A grade competions as well as many lower social grades, down to Womens G grade.  With over 1100 players competing per season we are the largest participation sport in Whyalla and the biggest basketball association outside of Adelaide. The WBA run 2 seasons (Winter and Summer) both are approximately 15 weeks in duration plus finals.

Whyalla is home to the Whyalla Steelers.  The Whyalla Steelers are comprised of elite players competing as Whyalla representative teams in 12's, 14's, 16's & 18's Men and Women's.  They compete in numerous Carnivals throughout the Summer months. These include Pt Pirie, Pt Augusta, Whyalla, and others. The combined season ends in Adelaide where we play for the South Australian Country Championship.

The WBA has been around since 1955.  During this time the WBA has established a proud history of players making National and South Australian teams, including a number of Olympians: Michael Ahmatt and Angela Marino.

Crt 1 Resealed

Interviews and Videos