Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

For those that are not aware, Lenny Payne, our Treasurer up until our recent AGM passed away yesterday after a long and courageous battle against cancer. We are enormously indebted to Lenny for all that he has done on behalf of our association. Lenny bought his children, Carla and Marlee into our Association initially playing for Demons before crossing to Roopena where both girls still play. He was an active member for Roos in recent years, fiercely passionate following his girls Basketball journey.

Both Carla and Marlee now are part of our umpire fraternity and Lenny’s wife Maxie takes care of our gatekeepers each night with readying the money bag and banking daily. The Payne’s have and continue to be an important family to our Association.

As a member of our executive he was able to put aside his club allegiances to be a strong voice in decisions needing to be made for the betterment of the association as a whole.

Lenny will be sorely missed out at the stadium, his voice and infectious laugh will long be remembered reverberating around the courts.

To Maxie, Zandri, Carla, Marlee and Lenny’s extended family and friends both here in Australia and in his native South Africa please accept our condolences on behalf of all
Members of the Whyalla Basketball Association.
... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

Condolences to the Lenny’s family … always up for a chat… from the Girdler’s from Broken Hill … thanks for all the advice you have given my kids

So very sad. My sincere condolences to his family. Rest peacefully 🙏😔

RIP Lenny, he will be missed by everyone, condolences to his family 💐

So very sad. Our sincere condolences to his family. He always had encouraging and positive things to say to my kids. Rest peacefully 🙏😔

Very sad news, Lenny was always willing to put his hand up for the benefit of his kids and the community, pleasure to have known him. Deep condolences to his family and everyone in town ❤️

Condolences. Sending thoughts and love ❤

RIP Lenny, condolences to Maxie and the girls

A lovely post for a lovely man. Thoughts and condolences to Maxie and the girls and all of Lenny’s family, friends and loved ones 💜

Such an inspiring man. Much love and condolences to his beautiful family. 🤍

Condolences to his family and friends, may he RIP ❤️

Absolute champion. Will always remember that infectious smile. Sending much love to the family xxx

Condolences to his family. R.i.p lenny.

So sad to hear this. Had the pleasure of working with Lenny. Sending love and hugs to Maxie and the kids xxxx

Sending love and condolences to Maxie and girls 🤍

Truly a great man. Thinking of you all ❤

So sorry to hear. Thoughts are with the family 🤍

This is just the saddest news. Sending love to Maxie and girls

Very sorry to hear this sad news

Condolences to the family ❤

Condolences to his family xx

Sending love and condolences to you all 🤍

View more comments

No doubt everyone is aware that the COVID-19 situation in SA is rapidly evolving and the State has been placed into lockdown for 7 days at this stage. When we get a clearer picture later in the week the exec will arrange a phone linkup to plan a way forward for the remainder of the season.

There are a number of contingencies that will need to be considered. We will ensure that all comps are even in terms of games played etc, it will certainly be forefront of our planning to play out the outstanding games before we head to a final week. Exactly how and when that happens is where the challenge will lay in terms of fitting around other sports finals also.

Stay tuned and we will keep you updated. Mostly importantly at this time however, is stay safe and look out for each other.
... See MoreSee Less

As we are aware Covid-19 continues to be a part of our lives. As of midnight tonight we have to pause our weeks schedule, tonight’s games will proceed as per roster. We have a week spare before the show takes over the stadium, as such at this stage we will push things back if possible. Stay tuned and we will let you know how things progress. Vitally important that everyone entering the stadium signs in! ... See MoreSee Less



John Spooner

Our latest 3 part Video instalment is with ex WBA President John Spooner.

It was filmed last year but has taken interviewer Trevor Castle some time to edit due to the amount of content John provided.

Tia Bails, 2019

From Steelers to Rockets.

This Months video interview instalemnet by Trevor Castle features another one of Whyalla's young female high flyers.

Ray Girvan, 2019

Ray Girvin is a true basketball tragic.

He fell in love with the game when he played his first game for a team called Nomads back in 1971.

Army Challenge Video, 2016

Highlight footage taken by the Army at the first of our Army Vs Civilian Challenges during their July 2106 Exercise Hamel operations.

It was Grand final type atmosphere but better due to the amazing response from the local community to this charity event.

President Jeff Spry, 2016

Jeff Spry was elected to the position of WBA President at the AGM last year.

I caught up with Jeff in the middle of this term to get to know him a little and to talk about what he sees as the biggest challenges facing Whyalla Basketball at the moment.

Darren Quinn, 2015

Following his recent retirement from playing basketball at the end of Sumer Season 2014/2015, Darren Quinn, Whyalla's most decorated player, agreed to sit down and tell his story.